top of page
  • Writer's pictureApril French

The Text You've Been Reading

At the beginning of April, I started this blog as part of my weekly assignments for Learning Experience Design: Advanced Tools and E-Learning Trends, a course at Oregon State University (OSU). When I started this course, I expected the text to fulfill all of my hopes and desires for a well-rounded course with learners at its focus. The learners would be my peers in instructional design and would be designed to meet the abiding need for graphic design and aesthetics in eLearning. This was my problem statement:

How do we address the need for aesthetics to increase learner engagement as it relates to eLearning?

With feedback from my classmates and coworkers, I discovered that while many instructional designers saw the need for aesthetics, most lacked training in the fundamentals of graphic design. These fundamentals included basic color theory, creating a color scheme, and properly pairing fonts. The scope of my wicked problem was much broader than I could accomplish in the duration of my OSU course, so I decided to divide these fundamentals into easily digestible chunks. Thus, the blog was born.

Unfortunately, With feedback from testers, I realized that there was a vital element missing from my course: user interactivity. I'd designed a text that should've been a course that allowed users to play. So, I got to work.


This course is not complete by any means. However, I'm proud of the progress I've made and of the way the course has developed. The course is easy to understand, has elements of fun incorporated into it, and shows what happens when colors are mixed.






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page